Arab Today, arab today a country called amreeka arab roots american stories
Last Updated : GMT 02:27:30
Arab Today, arab today
Arab Today, arab today

A Country Called Amreeka: Arab Roots, American Stories

Arab Today, arab today

Arab Today, arab today A Country Called Amreeka: Arab Roots, American Stories

Washington - Arabstoday

Alia Malek’s “A Country Called Amreeka: Arab Roots, American Stories” is another collection ofArab American narratives in the tradition of Evelyn Shakir’s “Bint Arab” and Moustafa Bayoumi’s “How Does It Feel to Be a Problem?: Being Young and Arab in America.”  Malek, an author and civil rights lawyer, writes that her book is “an attempt to populate Amreeka with human faces, emotions, thoughts, and stories, adding another chapter to the story of the country that we all share.” Her theme, Amreeka, serves as the spine connecting stories of various Arab-Americans — Christians and Muslims, naturalized and native-born, men and women, rich and poor — from all regions of the United States. “The purpose of this book isn’t to separate them,” she states, “but to fold their experience into the mosaic of American history and deepen our understanding of who we Americans are.” Beginning in 1963, each of Malek’s narratives is preceded by a brief historical summary and how that time period affected Arab Americans in general. She then focuses her lens on the individual lives of Arab Americans dealing with the aftermath of those events in their personal lives. She introduces us to Ed Salem, a star football player whose family was caught up in Birmingham’s struggle for civil rights; Luba Sihwail, a Palestinian woman having to deal with the occupation of her homeland as it was happening; Alan Amen, a Dearborn auto laborer fighting for worker’s rights during the Vietnam era; Rabih AbuSahan, a gay man dealing with homophobia and prejudice following the Oklahoma City bombing; Alex Odeh, the ADC director who was murdered in his Santa Ana office; Monsignor Ignace Sadek, a Maronite priest having to defend his church during the aftermath of 9/11; and Abraham Al-Thaibani, a U.S. Marine deployed to Iraq.   Malek is part historian, part journalist, part littérateur, managing to simultaneously take readers on an intellectual and emotional journey. Given her copious bibliography, one desires footnotes of her specific quotes and facts, allowing future researchers to pinpoint her sources.  Also, given her background as a civil rights lawyer, it would have been a useful addition to include the legal machinations behind the governmental actions that have been leveled against Arab Americans. “A Country Called Amreeka” is the kind of book every Arab American should read if they wish to know more about their history, their culture, and their fellow Arab Americans. This book review appeared in Al Jadid, Vol. 16, no. 62

Name *

E-mail *

Comment Title*

Comment *

: Characters Left

Mandatory *

Terms of use

Publishing Terms: Not to offend the author, or to persons or sanctities or attacking religions or divine self. And stay away from sectarian and racial incitement and insults.

I agree with the Terms of Use

Security Code*

Arab Today, arab today a country called amreeka arab roots american stories Arab Today, arab today a country called amreeka arab roots american stories

 



Arab Today, arab today
Arab Today, arab today Fadi explains secrets of  Nancy Ajram's newlook

GMT 18:23 2017 Friday ,24 February

Fadi explains secrets of  Nancy Ajram's newlook
Arab Today, arab today Tourist guide explains types of tourism

GMT 18:28 2017 Saturday ,25 February

Tourist guide explains types of tourism
Arab Today, arab today Expresses Algerian history by woody figures

GMT 13:26 2017 Friday ,24 February

Expresses Algerian history by woody figures
Arab Today, arab today Iran complying with nuclear deal

GMT 07:14 2017 Saturday ,25 February

Iran complying with nuclear deal
Arab Today, arab today Zainab al-Maliki reveals herTV presenter models

GMT 18:12 2017 Friday ,24 February

Zainab al-Maliki reveals herTV presenter models

GMT 15:04 2017 Wednesday ,04 January

Hitler’s ‘Mein Kampf’ becomes German bestseller

GMT 23:50 2016 Thursday ,08 December

UAE is helping the Arab world read more books

GMT 11:07 2016 Monday ,07 November

Sheikh Zayed Book Award announces first longlist

GMT 10:03 2016 Thursday ,13 October

A new illustrated book compares Beirut and New York

GMT 08:55 2016 Sunday ,25 September

Chinese Book Fair kicks off in Kathmandu
View News in Arabic - Culture: مراجعة كتب
Arab Today, arab today
Arab Today, arab today
Arab Today, arab today Reading therapy relieves mental disorders

GMT 15:39 2017 Friday ,24 February

Reading therapy relieves mental disorders
Arab Today, arab today UK appoints 1st Scotland Yard chief in 188 years

GMT 05:14 2017 Thursday ,23 February

UK appoints 1st Scotland Yard chief in 188 years
Arab Today, arab today Penguins in the age of dinos

GMT 11:44 2017 Saturday ,25 February

Penguins in the age of dinos
Arab Today, arab today Pluto's unruly moons

GMT 06:31 2015 Thursday ,04 June

Pluto's unruly moons
Arab Today, arab today 'Constructive' Vauxhall talk with union

GMT 08:54 2017 Saturday ,25 February

'Constructive' Vauxhall talk with union
Arab Today, arab today Tesla back into red but revenue grows

GMT 07:27 2017 Thursday ,23 February

Tesla back into red but revenue grows
Arab Today, arab today Actress Lobna Abdel Aziz proud of her career

GMT 06:08 2017 Thursday ,23 February

Actress Lobna Abdel Aziz proud of her career
Arab Today, arab today Ex-yoga missionary unleashes rage

GMT 12:16 2017 Thursday ,23 February

Ex-yoga missionary unleashes rage

GMT 07:36 2017 Wednesday ,22 February

Wafaa Amer is happy for Sherihan’s return

GMT 12:35 2017 Tuesday ,21 February

63-Year-Old Woman Delivers Baby

GMT 22:42 2017 Thursday ,23 February

Nasima Gamei revives heritage in jewelries

GMT 10:28 2017 Wednesday ,22 February

Milan laughs while Rome cries

GMT 20:33 2017 Friday ,17 February

To release new antiques collection

GMT 10:20 2017 Thursday ,23 February

Brazil's top diplomat resigns

GMT 11:54 2017 Thursday ,23 February

Saudis await visitors but will they come?

GMT 13:12 2015 Saturday ,09 May

Sheikh Sultan opens Sharjah Centre

GMT 20:02 2017 Tuesday ,21 February

Nohan Seyam designs beautiful accessories
Arab Today, arab today
Arab Today, arab today
 
 Arab Today Facebook,arab today facebook  Arab Today Twitter,arab today twitter Arab Today Rss,arab today rss  Arab Today Youtube,arab today youtube  Arab Today Youtube,arab today youtube
arabstoday arabstoday arabstoday arabstoday
arabstoday arabstoday arabstoday
arabstoday
بناية النخيل - رأس النبع _ خلف السفارة الفرنسية _بيروت - لبنان
arabstoday, Arabstoday, Arabstoday