Arab Today, arab today a country called amreeka arab roots american stories
Last Updated : GMT 19:58:31
Arab Today, arab today
Arab Today, arab today

A Country Called Amreeka: Arab Roots, American Stories

Arab Today, arab today

Arab Today, arab today A Country Called Amreeka: Arab Roots, American Stories

Washington - Arabstoday

Alia Malek’s “A Country Called Amreeka: Arab Roots, American Stories” is another collection ofArab American narratives in the tradition of Evelyn Shakir’s “Bint Arab” and Moustafa Bayoumi’s “How Does It Feel to Be a Problem?: Being Young and Arab in America.”  Malek, an author and civil rights lawyer, writes that her book is “an attempt to populate Amreeka with human faces, emotions, thoughts, and stories, adding another chapter to the story of the country that we all share.” Her theme, Amreeka, serves as the spine connecting stories of various Arab-Americans — Christians and Muslims, naturalized and native-born, men and women, rich and poor — from all regions of the United States. “The purpose of this book isn’t to separate them,” she states, “but to fold their experience into the mosaic of American history and deepen our understanding of who we Americans are.” Beginning in 1963, each of Malek’s narratives is preceded by a brief historical summary and how that time period affected Arab Americans in general. She then focuses her lens on the individual lives of Arab Americans dealing with the aftermath of those events in their personal lives. She introduces us to Ed Salem, a star football player whose family was caught up in Birmingham’s struggle for civil rights; Luba Sihwail, a Palestinian woman having to deal with the occupation of her homeland as it was happening; Alan Amen, a Dearborn auto laborer fighting for worker’s rights during the Vietnam era; Rabih AbuSahan, a gay man dealing with homophobia and prejudice following the Oklahoma City bombing; Alex Odeh, the ADC director who was murdered in his Santa Ana office; Monsignor Ignace Sadek, a Maronite priest having to defend his church during the aftermath of 9/11; and Abraham Al-Thaibani, a U.S. Marine deployed to Iraq.   Malek is part historian, part journalist, part littérateur, managing to simultaneously take readers on an intellectual and emotional journey. Given her copious bibliography, one desires footnotes of her specific quotes and facts, allowing future researchers to pinpoint her sources.  Also, given her background as a civil rights lawyer, it would have been a useful addition to include the legal machinations behind the governmental actions that have been leveled against Arab Americans. “A Country Called Amreeka” is the kind of book every Arab American should read if they wish to know more about their history, their culture, and their fellow Arab Americans. This book review appeared in Al Jadid, Vol. 16, no. 62

arabstoday
arabstoday

Name *

E-mail *

Comment Title*

Comment *

: Characters Left

Mandatory *

Terms of use

Publishing Terms: Not to offend the author, or to persons or sanctities or attacking religions or divine self. And stay away from sectarian and racial incitement and insults.

I agree with the Terms of Use

Security Code*

Arab Today, arab today a country called amreeka arab roots american stories Arab Today, arab today a country called amreeka arab roots american stories

 



Name *

E-mail *

Comment Title*

Comment *

: Characters Left

Mandatory *

Terms of use

Publishing Terms: Not to offend the author, or to persons or sanctities or attacking religions or divine self. And stay away from sectarian and racial incitement and insults.

I agree with the Terms of Use

Security Code*

Arab Today, arab today a country called amreeka arab roots american stories Arab Today, arab today a country called amreeka arab roots american stories

 



Arab Today, arab today
Arab Today, arab today Youssra depended on colored foam

GMT 16:53 2017 Tuesday ,05 September

Youssra depended on colored foam
Arab Today, arab today Taxi! Transport gets an overhaul

GMT 12:09 2017 Sunday ,24 September

Taxi! Transport gets an overhaul
Arab Today, arab today Etiquette expert underlines importance of gifts

GMT 17:52 2017 Sunday ,03 September

Etiquette expert underlines importance of gifts
Arab Today, arab today Turkey warns of 'security' steps

GMT 12:17 2017 Sunday ,24 September

Turkey warns of 'security' steps
Arab Today, arab today North Korea 'more opaque'

GMT 10:50 2017 Sunday ,24 September

North Korea 'more opaque'
Arab Today, arab today
Arab Today, arab today
Arab Today, arab today Ministry seeks to improve education

GMT 14:49 2017 Sunday ,17 September

Ministry seeks to improve education
Arab Today, arab today 'Lady Beast' fights for girl gamers

GMT 10:27 2017 Sunday ,24 September

'Lady Beast' fights for girl gamers
Arab Today, arab today Psychologists help Mexico deal

GMT 05:05 2017 Sunday ,24 September

Psychologists help Mexico deal
Arab Today, arab today The history of solar eclipses

GMT 05:16 2017 Sunday ,20 August

The history of solar eclipses
Arab Today, arab today Third generation adds more power

GMT 13:40 2017 Sunday ,24 September

Third generation adds more power
Arab Today, arab today Carmakers face billions in European

GMT 12:37 2017 Saturday ,23 September

Carmakers face billions in European
Arab Today, arab today Lebleba is preoccupied in filming 'Back Street'

GMT 08:56 2017 Thursday ,21 September

Lebleba is preoccupied in filming 'Back Street'
Arab Today, arab today Big Western brands polluting oceans

GMT 20:10 2017 Saturday ,23 September

Big Western brands polluting oceans

GMT 08:59 2017 Wednesday ,20 September

Youssra prepares for launching her program

GMT 10:16 2017 Friday ,22 September

All eyes on May as she prepares

GMT 16:53 2017 Saturday ,02 September

Mai importance of gifts during Eid Al-Adha

GMT 12:01 2017 Wednesday ,20 September

Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands brace

GMT 10:46 2017 Saturday ,05 August

Nanis reveals simple ideas for home renovation

GMT 18:11 2017 Saturday ,23 September

Doctor provides advices to families

GMT 13:36 2017 Saturday ,23 September

unveils Joon - the 'millenials' airline

GMT 17:12 2017 Monday ,07 August

Al-Shawaifi reveals secrets of total solar eclipse

GMT 12:46 2017 Thursday ,21 September

Google likely to buy stake in Taiwan smartphone maker HTC

GMT 11:37 2017 Saturday ,12 August

Fashion designer reveals her new collection
Arab Today, arab today
Arab Today, arab today
 
 Arab Today Facebook,arab today facebook  Arab Today Twitter,arab today twitter Arab Today Rss,arab today rss  Arab Today Youtube,arab today youtube  Arab Today Youtube,arab today youtube
arabstoday arabstoday arabstoday arabstoday
arabstoday arabstoday arabstoday
arabstoday
بناية النخيل - رأس النبع _ خلف السفارة الفرنسية _بيروت - لبنان
arabstoday, Arabstoday, Arabstoday