Arab Today, arab today a country called amreeka arab roots american stories
Last Updated : GMT 21:46:51
Arab Today, arab today
Arab Today, arab today

A Country Called Amreeka: Arab Roots, American Stories

Arab Today, arab today

Arab Today, arab today A Country Called Amreeka: Arab Roots, American Stories

Washington - Arabstoday

Alia Malek’s “A Country Called Amreeka: Arab Roots, American Stories” is another collection ofArab American narratives in the tradition of Evelyn Shakir’s “Bint Arab” and Moustafa Bayoumi’s “How Does It Feel to Be a Problem?: Being Young and Arab in America.”  Malek, an author and civil rights lawyer, writes that her book is “an attempt to populate Amreeka with human faces, emotions, thoughts, and stories, adding another chapter to the story of the country that we all share.” Her theme, Amreeka, serves as the spine connecting stories of various Arab-Americans — Christians and Muslims, naturalized and native-born, men and women, rich and poor — from all regions of the United States. “The purpose of this book isn’t to separate them,” she states, “but to fold their experience into the mosaic of American history and deepen our understanding of who we Americans are.” Beginning in 1963, each of Malek’s narratives is preceded by a brief historical summary and how that time period affected Arab Americans in general. She then focuses her lens on the individual lives of Arab Americans dealing with the aftermath of those events in their personal lives. She introduces us to Ed Salem, a star football player whose family was caught up in Birmingham’s struggle for civil rights; Luba Sihwail, a Palestinian woman having to deal with the occupation of her homeland as it was happening; Alan Amen, a Dearborn auto laborer fighting for worker’s rights during the Vietnam era; Rabih AbuSahan, a gay man dealing with homophobia and prejudice following the Oklahoma City bombing; Alex Odeh, the ADC director who was murdered in his Santa Ana office; Monsignor Ignace Sadek, a Maronite priest having to defend his church during the aftermath of 9/11; and Abraham Al-Thaibani, a U.S. Marine deployed to Iraq.   Malek is part historian, part journalist, part littérateur, managing to simultaneously take readers on an intellectual and emotional journey. Given her copious bibliography, one desires footnotes of her specific quotes and facts, allowing future researchers to pinpoint her sources.  Also, given her background as a civil rights lawyer, it would have been a useful addition to include the legal machinations behind the governmental actions that have been leveled against Arab Americans. “A Country Called Amreeka” is the kind of book every Arab American should read if they wish to know more about their history, their culture, and their fellow Arab Americans. This book review appeared in Al Jadid, Vol. 16, no. 62

arabstoday
arabstoday

GMT 08:10 2017 Thursday ,27 April

Abu Dhabi International Book Fair launched

GMT 09:09 2017 Wednesday ,19 April

Braille reading contest winners honoured

GMT 07:10 2017 Wednesday ,19 April

Deputy Premier patronises book launch

GMT 07:26 2017 Tuesday ,18 April

Abu Dhabi gears up for international book fair

GMT 12:19 2017 Friday ,14 April

Sharjah ruler launches book version

GMT 03:37 2017 Saturday ,08 April

Textbooks spell testing times
View News in Arabic - Culture: مراجعة كتب
Arab Today, arab today
Arab Today, arab today

Name *

E-mail *

Comment Title*

Comment *

: Characters Left

Mandatory *

Terms of use

Publishing Terms: Not to offend the author, or to persons or sanctities or attacking religions or divine self. And stay away from sectarian and racial incitement and insults.

I agree with the Terms of Use

Security Code*

Arab Today, arab today a country called amreeka arab roots american stories Arab Today, arab today a country called amreeka arab roots american stories

 



Arab Today, arab today

Name *

E-mail *

Comment Title*

Comment *

: Characters Left

Mandatory *

Terms of use

Publishing Terms: Not to offend the author, or to persons or sanctities or attacking religions or divine self. And stay away from sectarian and racial incitement and insults.

I agree with the Terms of Use

Security Code*

Arab Today, arab today a country called amreeka arab roots american stories Arab Today, arab today a country called amreeka arab roots american stories

 



Arab Today, arab today France defies terrorism through tourism

GMT 15:18 2017 Saturday ,20 May

France defies terrorism through tourism
Arab Today, arab today Zainab Fadel Oglu designs “Shakerin” mosque

GMT 12:13 2017 Thursday ,11 May

Zainab Fadel Oglu designs “Shakerin” mosque
Arab Today, arab today Seeks to move past rift with Israel

GMT 08:00 2017 Monday ,08 May

Seeks to move past rift with Israel

GMT 08:10 2017 Thursday ,27 April

Abu Dhabi International Book Fair launched

GMT 09:09 2017 Wednesday ,19 April

Braille reading contest winners honoured

GMT 07:10 2017 Wednesday ,19 April

Deputy Premier patronises book launch

GMT 07:26 2017 Tuesday ,18 April

Abu Dhabi gears up for international book fair

GMT 12:19 2017 Friday ,14 April

Sharjah ruler launches book version

GMT 03:37 2017 Saturday ,08 April

Textbooks spell testing times
View News in Arabic - Culture: مراجعة كتب
Arab Today, arab today
Arab Today, arab today
Arab Today, arab today Mozambique's gas boom dream under threat

GMT 16:29 2017 Monday ,08 May

Mozambique's gas boom dream under threat
Arab Today, arab today Prepares to give stargazers an eyeful

GMT 13:38 2017 Monday ,06 March

Prepares to give stargazers an eyeful
Arab Today, arab today Jaguar displays XF Sportbrake line

GMT 14:36 2017 Monday ,08 May

Jaguar displays XF Sportbrake line
Arab Today, arab today BMW sees forecasts in reach

GMT 09:04 2017 Thursday ,04 May

BMW sees forecasts in reach
Arab Today, arab today Climate science: Bad news gets worse

GMT 08:48 2017 Saturday ,06 May

Climate science: Bad news gets worse
Arab Today, arab today
Arab Today, arab today
 
 Arab Today Facebook,arab today facebook  Arab Today Twitter,arab today twitter Arab Today Rss,arab today rss  Arab Today Youtube,arab today youtube  Arab Today Youtube,arab today youtube
arabstoday arabstoday arabstoday arabstoday
arabstoday arabstoday arabstoday
arabstoday
بناية النخيل - رأس النبع _ خلف السفارة الفرنسية _بيروت - لبنان
arabstoday, Arabstoday, Arabstoday