Arab Today, arab today crime novel sells out after jk rowling revealed as author
Last Updated : GMT 08:27:29
Arab Today, arab today
Arab Today, arab today

Crime novel sells out after JK Rowling revealed as author

Arab Today, arab today

Arab Today, arab today Crime novel sells out after JK Rowling revealed as author

New York - AFP

A detective novel secretly written by Harry Potter mastermind J.K. Rowling surged to the top of bestseller lists on Monday after the true identity of the author was revealed, embarrassing some publishers who had rejected the manuscript. An ex-military man tries his hand at writing, publishes a debut detective novel, and wins critical acclaim. But here’s the twist in the tale: The true identity of the author is none other than “Harry Potter” creator J.K. Rowling. It’s impressive literary wizardry by Rowling, who said she relished the freedom of writing “The Cuckoo’s Calling” under her pseudonym, Robert Galbraith. “I hoped to keep this secret a little longer because being Robert Galbraith has been such a liberating experience,” she said in a statement released by her publicist on Sunday. “It has been wonderful to publish without hype or expectation, and pure pleasure to get feedback from publishers and readers under a different name.” “The Cuckoo’s Calling,” a story about a war veteran turned private investigator who is called in to probe the mysterious death of a model, was published to rave reviews in April by Sphere, part of publisher Little, Brown & Co. The Sunday Times claimed it was investigating “how a first-time author with a background in the army and the civilian security industry could write such an assured debut novel” when it connected the dots. The paper said clues included the fact that Rowling and Galbraith shared the same agent and editor, and that Little, Brown published Rowling’s novel for adults, “The Casual Vacancy.” It also said the book’s style and subject matter resembled Rowling’s work. Rowling’s publicist confirmed the paper’s detective work was correct, and the news helped the novel climb straight to the top of Amazon’s best-selling list Sunday. It’s also left Britain’s bookstores unprepared. Jon Howells, a spokesman for Waterstones, one of the country’s biggest bookselling chains, said it had only a handful of copies of “The Cuckoo’s Calling” scattered around the country – and they probably sold out on Sunday. He added that Rowling’s feat was “the best act of literary deception since Stephen King was outed as Richard Bachman back in the 1980s.” King said he wrote disguised as Bachman so that he could publish more books each year. In her statement, Rowling thanked her editor David Shelley, the publishing staff who worked on the book without knowing her identity, and the reviewers who praised it without knowing about her authorship. She added that “Galbraith” planned to keep writing the series, and her publisher said that the second book is expected to be published next summer. Now that her identity is revealed, Little, Brown said “The Cuckoo’s Calling” will be reprinted with a revised author biography. On its website, the publisher marketed the book as a classic crime novel in the tradition of P.D. James and Ruth Rendell. It said the novel, whose central character is named Cormoran Strike, was the first of a series of crime novels to come. The publisher described Galbraith as an ex-military man, married with two sons, who wrote the novel based on experiences from his military life. Revealingly, it also stated that Galbraith was a pseudonym. The book received many favorable reviews, including critics who called it “a scintillating debut novel” and who praised Galbraith for his “superb flair as a mystery writer.” Crime novelist Duane Swierczynski said he admired Rowling for choosing to publish in disguise.“I read the novel, loved it, and wrote an enthusiastic blurb in early January,” he said. “Galbraith sounded like someone I’d love to have a beer with. This is still the case, mind you.” Rowling recently turned to writing for grown-ups after becoming the world’s most successful living writer with the “Harry Potter” books, which sold more than 450 million copies worldwide. Reviews for her highly-anticipated novel “The Casual Vacancy,” published last year, were mixed. Some praised the book, a bleak tale about class warfare and the darker sides to a community in small-town England, for tackling difficult subjects, but others said it lacked the magic touch that made Rowling’s books of wizardry so popular.

arabstoday
arabstoday

Name *

E-mail *

Comment Title*

Comment *

: Characters Left

Mandatory *

Terms of use

Publishing Terms: Not to offend the author, or to persons or sanctities or attacking religions or divine self. And stay away from sectarian and racial incitement and insults.

I agree with the Terms of Use

Security Code*

Arab Today, arab today crime novel sells out after jk rowling revealed as author Arab Today, arab today crime novel sells out after jk rowling revealed as author

 



Arab Today, arab today

Name *

E-mail *

Comment Title*

Comment *

: Characters Left

Mandatory *

Terms of use

Publishing Terms: Not to offend the author, or to persons or sanctities or attacking religions or divine self. And stay away from sectarian and racial incitement and insults.

I agree with the Terms of Use

Security Code*

Arab Today, arab today crime novel sells out after jk rowling revealed as author Arab Today, arab today crime novel sells out after jk rowling revealed as author

 



Arab Today, arab today Designer Rania Adel reveals her new collection

GMT 17:59 2017 Monday ,12 June

Designer Rania Adel reveals her new collection
Arab Today, arab today France defies terrorism through tourism

GMT 15:18 2017 Saturday ,20 May

France defies terrorism through tourism
Arab Today, arab today Mai Al-Jeddawi presents décor ideas for Ramadan
View News in Arabic - Culture: بأقلامهم
Arab Today, arab today
Arab Today, arab today

GMT 09:49 2017 Tuesday ,02 May

Girl barred from Malaysia chess competition

GMT 08:48 2017 Saturday ,06 May

Climate science: Bad news gets worse

GMT 16:25 2017 Sunday ,04 June

“Suhoor” is basic meal for fasting

GMT 06:31 2015 Thursday ,04 June

Pluto's unruly moons

GMT 23:13 2017 Sunday ,18 June

New ransomware virus attacking mobiles in Oman
Arab Today, arab today
Arab Today, arab today
 
 Arab Today Facebook,arab today facebook  Arab Today Twitter,arab today twitter Arab Today Rss,arab today rss  Arab Today Youtube,arab today youtube  Arab Today Youtube,arab today youtube
arabstoday arabstoday arabstoday arabstoday
arabstoday arabstoday arabstoday
arabstoday
بناية النخيل - رأس النبع _ خلف السفارة الفرنسية _بيروت - لبنان
arabstoday, Arabstoday, Arabstoday