Arab Today, arab today crime novel sells out after jk rowling revealed as author
Last Updated : GMT 10:41:09
Arab Today, arab today
Arab Today, arab today

Crime novel sells out after JK Rowling revealed as author

Arab Today, arab today

Arab Today, arab today Crime novel sells out after JK Rowling revealed as author

New York - AFP

A detective novel secretly written by Harry Potter mastermind J.K. Rowling surged to the top of bestseller lists on Monday after the true identity of the author was revealed, embarrassing some publishers who had rejected the manuscript. An ex-military man tries his hand at writing, publishes a debut detective novel, and wins critical acclaim. But here’s the twist in the tale: The true identity of the author is none other than “Harry Potter” creator J.K. Rowling. It’s impressive literary wizardry by Rowling, who said she relished the freedom of writing “The Cuckoo’s Calling” under her pseudonym, Robert Galbraith. “I hoped to keep this secret a little longer because being Robert Galbraith has been such a liberating experience,” she said in a statement released by her publicist on Sunday. “It has been wonderful to publish without hype or expectation, and pure pleasure to get feedback from publishers and readers under a different name.” “The Cuckoo’s Calling,” a story about a war veteran turned private investigator who is called in to probe the mysterious death of a model, was published to rave reviews in April by Sphere, part of publisher Little, Brown & Co. The Sunday Times claimed it was investigating “how a first-time author with a background in the army and the civilian security industry could write such an assured debut novel” when it connected the dots. The paper said clues included the fact that Rowling and Galbraith shared the same agent and editor, and that Little, Brown published Rowling’s novel for adults, “The Casual Vacancy.” It also said the book’s style and subject matter resembled Rowling’s work. Rowling’s publicist confirmed the paper’s detective work was correct, and the news helped the novel climb straight to the top of Amazon’s best-selling list Sunday. It’s also left Britain’s bookstores unprepared. Jon Howells, a spokesman for Waterstones, one of the country’s biggest bookselling chains, said it had only a handful of copies of “The Cuckoo’s Calling” scattered around the country – and they probably sold out on Sunday. He added that Rowling’s feat was “the best act of literary deception since Stephen King was outed as Richard Bachman back in the 1980s.” King said he wrote disguised as Bachman so that he could publish more books each year. In her statement, Rowling thanked her editor David Shelley, the publishing staff who worked on the book without knowing her identity, and the reviewers who praised it without knowing about her authorship. She added that “Galbraith” planned to keep writing the series, and her publisher said that the second book is expected to be published next summer. Now that her identity is revealed, Little, Brown said “The Cuckoo’s Calling” will be reprinted with a revised author biography. On its website, the publisher marketed the book as a classic crime novel in the tradition of P.D. James and Ruth Rendell. It said the novel, whose central character is named Cormoran Strike, was the first of a series of crime novels to come. The publisher described Galbraith as an ex-military man, married with two sons, who wrote the novel based on experiences from his military life. Revealingly, it also stated that Galbraith was a pseudonym. The book received many favorable reviews, including critics who called it “a scintillating debut novel” and who praised Galbraith for his “superb flair as a mystery writer.” Crime novelist Duane Swierczynski said he admired Rowling for choosing to publish in disguise.“I read the novel, loved it, and wrote an enthusiastic blurb in early January,” he said. “Galbraith sounded like someone I’d love to have a beer with. This is still the case, mind you.” Rowling recently turned to writing for grown-ups after becoming the world’s most successful living writer with the “Harry Potter” books, which sold more than 450 million copies worldwide. Reviews for her highly-anticipated novel “The Casual Vacancy,” published last year, were mixed. Some praised the book, a bleak tale about class warfare and the darker sides to a community in small-town England, for tackling difficult subjects, but others said it lacked the magic touch that made Rowling’s books of wizardry so popular.

Name *

E-mail *

Comment Title*

Comment *

: Characters Left

Mandatory *

Terms of use

Publishing Terms: Not to offend the author, or to persons or sanctities or attacking religions or divine self. And stay away from sectarian and racial incitement and insults.

I agree with the Terms of Use

Security Code*

Arab Today, arab today crime novel sells out after jk rowling revealed as author Arab Today, arab today crime novel sells out after jk rowling revealed as author

 



Arab Today, arab today
Arab Today, arab today Laptop ban sparks ire

GMT 09:02 2017 Thursday ,23 March

Laptop ban sparks ire
Arab Today, arab today Sheds light on major steps in 12-year career

GMT 06:07 2017 Monday ,27 February

Sheds light on major steps in 12-year career
Arab Today, arab today Dozens dead in US-led Syria strikes

GMT 08:35 2017 Thursday ,23 March

Dozens dead in US-led Syria strikes
Arab Today, arab today AT&T, Verizon join Google ad boycott

GMT 10:30 2017 Thursday ,23 March

AT&T, Verizon join Google ad boycott
View News in Arabic - Culture: بأقلامهم
Arab Today, arab today
Arab Today, arab today
Arab Today, arab today Yemeni official warns education is under threat

GMT 12:03 2017 Tuesday ,14 March

Yemeni official warns education is under threat
Arab Today, arab today 2017 already marked

GMT 15:25 2017 Tuesday ,21 March

2017 already marked
Arab Today, arab today Prepares to give stargazers an eyeful

GMT 13:38 2017 Monday ,06 March

Prepares to give stargazers an eyeful
Arab Today, arab today Renault Trezor wins design award

GMT 11:56 2017 Tuesday ,21 March

Renault Trezor wins design award
Arab Today, arab today Palestinian police wage war

GMT 07:53 2017 Friday ,17 March

Palestinian police wage war
Arab Today, arab today Donia Abdel Aziz participates in "Game of Silence"

GMT 07:12 2017 Tuesday ,21 March

Donia Abdel Aziz participates in "Game of Silence"
Arab Today, arab today Mexico threatens to ditch US corn imports

GMT 10:34 2017 Tuesday ,21 March

Mexico threatens to ditch US corn imports

GMT 07:39 2017 Monday ,20 March

Dalia Mustafa believes in the presence of ghosts

GMT 19:27 2017 Saturday ,11 March

Boualsof launches "Priestess Kahina" collection

GMT 16:41 2017 Monday ,20 March

Preserving the memory of glaciers

GMT 19:45 2017 Monday ,20 February

Sarah Belamesh designs antiques of "ceramic"

GMT 13:11 2017 Tuesday ,21 March

Web-based counseling lowers blood pressure

GMT 10:18 2017 Tuesday ,21 March

Kuwait's tourism industry to be worth

GMT 06:31 2015 Thursday ,04 June

Pluto's unruly moons

GMT 22:39 2017 Thursday ,09 March

Zuhair Murad presents his new collection "Resorts"
Arab Today, arab today
Arab Today, arab today
 
 Arab Today Facebook,arab today facebook  Arab Today Twitter,arab today twitter Arab Today Rss,arab today rss  Arab Today Youtube,arab today youtube  Arab Today Youtube,arab today youtube
arabstoday arabstoday arabstoday arabstoday
arabstoday arabstoday arabstoday
arabstoday
بناية النخيل - رأس النبع _ خلف السفارة الفرنسية _بيروت - لبنان
arabstoday, Arabstoday, Arabstoday